Easy To Make Little Red Riding Hood Dog Costume – No Sewing Required

This is me as Little Red Riding Hood

This is me as Little Red Riding Hood

With just a pair of scissors and a glue gun, my friend Silvia made my Little Red Riding Hood costume.  It took her less than an hour.  Here is the simple how-to:

MEASUREMENTS:

A - B

A - B

C - D

C - D

E

E

My mom took 5 measurements: A–from my neck to my tail; B–from my neck to just over my eyes; C–around my neck; D–around my belly; E–between my eyes.

MATERIALS NEEDED:

Scissors
Low-temp glue gun & glue sticks
Measuring tape
Marker
Red velveteen – a little bit more than the distance between the eyes and the tail
White lace – enough to go around the outfit
Velcro
Elastic

DIRECTIONS:

1) Cut a rectangle as follows: length–a little bit more than the distance between the eyes and the tail; width–over the dog from one back paw to the other back paw, like an upside down “U”
2) Take measurement A plus 1″ and mark that across the fabric.  Gather the fabric with glue;

3) Fold in half. On the folded edge and starting at the gather, mark measurement A.  On the open egde side, mark measurement A less 3″.  Connect the marking swith a sooth semi-circular line;
4) Cut the fabric as marked;

5) From the gather, take measurement B and mark it across the fabric.  Cut;
6) Fold fabric in half. About half way, draw in a half a circle for the ears and cut out.

7) Fitting time;
8) Open up and gather the center part so that you end up with measurement E;

9) Start gluing the lace;
10) Continue gluing the lace, leaving openings for the ears;

11) Supervising is not an easy job;
12) Glue the lace all the way around;

13) Cut velcro as follows: Half of measurement C plus 1.5″.  Pull apart. Glue to the inside…but BEFORE YOU GLUE make sure the rough part WILL NOT rub against the dog, and that when all is in place, it actually sticks together;
14) Glue a little piece of elastic to hold the hood in place.  Where you glue will depend on the shape of the dog’s face.

15) Glue a piece of ribbon on the outside gather.  Leave enough material to make a bow.
16) Cut velcro as follows: Half of measurement D plus 1.5″. Pull apart.  Glue to the inside.  Follow the instructions on 13 above.  This will go around the dog’s belly to keep cape in place.

17) Try on;
18) Pose;

19)  And when in the woods…watch out for wolves.

Fluffs,

Tags: , , , ,

4 Responses to “Easy To Make Little Red Riding Hood Dog Costume – No Sewing Required”

  1. Lizzi Says:

    Thanks for the tutorial! I am going to make this for Halloween!

  2. niqqi Says:

    Lizzi!

    Thanks for the kind letter! I’m glad you’ll be making this for Halloween! Send me a picture!

    Love,

    Niqqi

  3. susana Says:

    thanks for this! I am making it for my chihuahua. I’m going to try to add a little blouse and corset underneath, hope it turns out ok. Now I need a big bad wolf costume for my other dog.

Leave a Reply

