Bishon Frise Launches New Blog

Hey Everyone!  My name is Niqqi.
I am Niqqi, a bichon frise.

I am Niqqi, a bichon frise.

I’ve been wanting to write a blog for a long time…but my parents said “Absolutely no blogging until you’re a year old!” So here I am, blogging for the first time, totally nervous and hoping I’m doing it right.

I have a mom, a dad and a brother…but we don’t look too much alike… Let’s say that I got the short and hairy genes. But that’s just fine! We’re a great family and love each other very much.

People often ask my parents what I am. My birth certificate says “bichon frise,” but apparently my ears are not typical. Sometimes they say I look like a teddy bear or a bunny…

People say I have bunny ears.

People say I have bunny ears.

All I know is that it’s okay to be different and it really doesn’t matter what the outside looks like as long as the inside is good.

I can tell you that I am a very well rounded dog. I am kind and courteous, I love to read, write, listen and learn. I am opinionated, but my ears are always up to listen to other dogs’ opinions. I’m curious and socially conscious, but I’m also fluffy and frilly and I like fashion.

So here I am,  Niqqi, ready to share my thoughts and tell you about my adventures.  And by the way, I DID IT!  I wrote my first blog!  Watch out world!  Niqqi is here!  I have a million things to say.  So, stay tuned…and stay fluffy.

  

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 Responses to “Bishon Frise Launches New Blog”

  1. Jim Says:

    Hello Niqqi, I think you will have fun with your blog. Thought maybe someone might be able to answer some of my questions for the following. I am a little confused about Lyme Tick Disease. We had our Chessadore (1/2 chocolate lab & 1/2 chesapeake retriever) puppy vaccinated for Lyme disease and
    were using frontline too. But after a day on the outer beach (we live on the cape) the
    “Lakota” starting limping on his front leg, we took that in stride as he was very active on
    the beach. The next day though he could not even stand up, I had to carry him from the
    upstairs bedroom to the truck to bring him to the vet. Anyway he had lyme disease and is
    being treated for it now. He seems to be fine. We live in the woods and the vet says he
    will most likely get the disease again, the vet bill was over $300. Does any body have any
    preventive measures I do not know of for preventing this disease to occur again and how
    to protect ourselves. Looking forward to your comments.
    Jim

  2. niqqi Says:

    Jim~

    Ouch! Not a pretty picture! I don’t think staying home to enjoy a tick-free environment is an option for your Chessadore, is it?

    I’ve heard that Neem, a natural plant extract, is a good repellent for fleas and ticks and that is widely used for that purpose. For fellow dogs, there are shampoos and sprays that can be used before going on outings. Some products have other ingredients to maximize their effectiveness. For example, “Defeat Da Fleas,” available from http://www.kathysanto.com, adds peppermint leaf and citronella oil, whereas Armonie Naturali’s “Neem Oil Shampoo” has green clay, tea tree and castor oil among its ingredients. I think you can find it at http://www.petego.com. I personally have not tried these products, but they might be worth looking into.

    Oh, and another question. Does your Chessi like Italian? I’ve read that garlic is also really good to keep bugs away. Bad breath is another subject, though.

    Hoping ticks stay away,

    Niqqi

  3. rileythepuggle Says:

    Hey Niqqi!

    I’ve never seen a dog that looked like you! I have a cousin that’s a yorkie, but even he isn’t as furry as you! I love yours ears! They’re the complete opposite of mine, which are big and floppy. People like to play with them, which can get really annoying!

    I’m excited to keep reading your blog from the fluffier side of the canine kingdom!

    Happy barking!

    Riley the Puggle

  4. niqqi Says:

    Hi Riley!

    Thank you! Thank you! Thank you!

    I know what you mean by the annoying habit people have. We don’t play with their ears, so I don’t understand why they have to play with ours!!

    I can’t wait to visit your blog!

    Stay fluffy,

    Niqqi

  5. rileythepuggle Says:

    Hey Niqqi, I added you to my blog roll, hope that’s okay. I can’t wait to read more posts from you!

    -Lots of Licks
    Riley

  6. niqqi Says:

    Riley, you’re the best!

    Love & fluffs,

    Niqqi

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,130 other followers

